The Color of Magic Pt.1

I AM NOT A BOOk Reader, I Am Not A Writer. Right now that’s what I tell myself because honestly I’m not any of those. I have never read a book like The Color of Magic and never planned on it. I have never written anything similar to any part of this book and I never planned on it. I’m confused at the beginning of this book and I’m push through all of my personal resistance to continue reading. While reading I find myself reading for something that I could compare the story with.

548ad84b3a354

I’m trying to make the book my own before even entering into the text. I want to know the book before it know me. If that sounded confusing ill explain, as a reader of this book I want to be the lord of this book before its lord over me. I’m not allowing the text to bring me into disk world, the world that the story takes place in. I’m trying to understand the terms and characters before i even know what the story is about. Yet when I attempt to do so I cant, and begin to push back on the text because I haven’t grasped the characters.

magic_kingdom_by_ivany86-d6biz63

The color of magic is a story about a wizard called Rincewind that becomes responsible for the safety of his home. Twoflower, who Rincewind is a guide to, comes to explore the land and becomes and becomes a real threat to himself. Two flower has also come to see the heroes he has heard for so long about. He desires to meet the heroes and see all of the tales he has heard come to life. As the story goes on Rincewind slowly learns about the magic called Reflected-sound-of underground-spirits which leads the story heavily later in the book.

2 thoughts on “The Color of Magic Pt.1

  1. For the first blog of any of the texts, we’re supposed to be value graphing the text that we’re reading. This way we can try to find the controlling and opposing controlling values that are within the text, like the purpose and the context that the character faces. When reading your post, I was looking for those aspects in the blog. The summary of the novel you gave was good, but I wanted to know what was the reason Rincewind had to become responsible for his home? Was there something dangerous that was threatening his world? It seems that this book is out of your comfort zone and I think you did a good job explaining that you’re going into this story with some projections already without having read much of it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Final Reflection Stevens Dejesus | reading4awesome

Leave a comment