Samuel Fine’s Proposal

Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov:

As I mentioned in my inventory, Lolita is one book which I was unwilling to submit to at all and I put it down. I would like to pick it up again, but avoid focusing upon the memetic register and instead focus through the intertextual cultural codes.

The Catcher in The Rye, J.D. Salinger:

Although I have read Catcher twice already, at thirteen and sixteen, I would like to reread it now. Being equipped with the tools to see beyond mere theme, character, and metaphor, I am able to approach the text in a new light as though I have never read it before.

Medea, Euripides:

Ancient Greek tragedy. I bought a copy for a world literature survey class, but then the professor never assigned the reading. The slim volume escaped my eye when I sold my books back at the end of the semester, so it sits unread on my shelf to this day.

Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk:

Apparently, There are some intertextual codes between this book and Demian. Perhaps Fight Club is a retelling of Demian’s story line and will provide insight into what we read for in the genre of psychological horror.

Holidays on Ice, David Sedaris:

In his debut memoir, Sedaris invites the reader to a novel rhetorical situation where they must discern whether or not the truth is told. Should the alleged truth of the stories be considered by a literary reading?

IMG_4187

Leave a comment